Engage With Your City Government

Request email notification when page changes E-Notify
The Muskogee City Council is the legislative and quasi-judicial body of city government. Under the provisions of the City Charter of Muskogee the Council is composed of a Mayor and an eight member body. The Mayor shall be elected at large, by qualified electors of the entire city.  All candidates for the office of council member shall be elected by the qualified electors of their respective wards. The City is divided into four wards. Elections are held on the second Tuesday in January in each even numbered year. The term for Mayor is two years and Council Members serve for four years which are staggered. To be elected, a candidate must receive a majority (50% + 1) of the votes cast; if no candidate garners a majority, a run-off election is held between the two candidates that received the most votes. Runoff elections are held on the first Tuesday of March. The terms of Mayor and Members of the Council shall take office at 9:00 AM on the second Tuesday in March following the General and Run-Off elections.

The Mayor shall be recognized as head of the City government for all ceremonial purposes. The Council shall elect from its members a Vice Mayor. The Mayor and Members of Council receive no salary or other compensation for their services.